Trusting Your Parent’s Wisdom

Sometimes I get that look from my kids when I tell them “no.” It’s the look that says, “Why don’t you let me have any fun.” If I’m in the mood, I explain the reasoning because I want them to understand that there is a “why,” and that there are natural consequences to certain activities that I want to help them avoid. I don’t just enjoy saying “no.” But I really wish they just trusted me. I mean, haven’t I proven my love for them? Can’t they just trust that I’ve been around a lot longer, experienced a lot more, and know what I’m talking about?

Sometimes people give God that same look.  Sometimes the Bible can look like a big book of “don’ts” and “thou shalt nots.” Being a Christian can look boring-like we can’t do anything fun.  But God just wishes we would trust Him.  Can’t we just trust that He knows what He’s talking about-that He’s been around a lot longer and experienced a lot more and wants to help us avoid disastrous negative natural consequences to certain activities?  Hasn’t He proven His love for us?

As crazy as it sounds, following God’s “rules” and directives is actually freeing. We can have fun while avoiding a lot of the trouble others find themselves in as a result of making bad choices. Being in God’s presence, seeking to follow His will, aiming to please Him is what brings true joy and peace. Isn’t that what we are looking for when we engage in many activities? We want to have fun because it will bring us joy, right?

We would all be a lot better off if we quit giving our Father that look we see from our kids.  Let’s just trust that He makes “rules” out of love and in an attempt to help us avoid the trouble He knows will come from making certain choices.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”  Jeremiah 29:11

Leave a Reply

