The Golden Rule: Simplistic and Challenging

Have you seen that poster? The one that reads,” Everything I need to know I learned in Kindergarten?”  That has a lot of truth to it.  Okay, maybe you don’t learn everything you need to know; but you learn a lot about how to treat people.  Go to any Sunday school, daycare, or preschool and the instructors will be teaching some form of The Golden Rule: treat others the way you would like to be treated.  It isn’t just a good saying.  It’s Biblical.  “So in everything, do to others what you would have them do to you, for this sums up the Law and the Prophets.”  (Matthew 7:12)  And, it isn’t just for children.  It is relevant into adulthood.

I see people all the time who portray an enlightened attitude.  They want to include everyone, accept everyone, support everyone in doing what they feel is right for them. You know the, “Can’t we all just get along,” analogy. While that definitely has its merits, sometimes it stops there.

Sometimes comments can even come across as condescending if someone gives an opinion contrary to this “enlightenment.”  Sometimes we forget about the Golden Rule as it applies to everyone; not just people who agree with our philosophies.  Sometimes we can be so passionate that we lose our composure.  Sometimes we can become so consumed in the chaos of our own lives that we forget that other people are like us inside.  They have hearts that break, brains that ponder, and longing spirits.  They feel like we do.

I forget this; or rather choose to ignore the fact sometimes. Especially when I am mad and feel that an injustice has been done.  As a matter of fact, I had a couple of people in mind specifically as I wrote this post. I was going to give you specific examples of their inconsideration (without using names). I didn’t think they would ever read this, but still, I felt convicted even as I was writing this. How would I feel if I were used as a negative example in a blog post? Even if I were in the wrong? And, as you read this, you will notice that I didn’t end up including those examples.

I don’t think I have it all figured out by any means.  I mess up multiple times a day. As I remind my children of these principles, I remind myself.  That’s why I am exceedingly and continually thankful for God’s Grace.  It covers a multitude of sins; it is sufficient.

God knows what He’s talking about when He gives us specific commands. And at the risk of sounding altruistic: the world would be a better place if we treated others the way we would like to be treated.

One thought on “The Golden Rule: Simplistic and Challenging

Leave a Reply

