Sophistication and the Usefulness of Socks

I remember while I was growing up I wanted to act sophisticated. I wished my family were more “polished,” or at least less embarrassing. My mom will admit proudly that she is a bit of a redneck. We are country kids at heart, no matter where we live. You just can’t “sophisticate” out the years of climbing barn ladders to play in haylofts, mucking stalls, and catching frogs from a pond.

I found myself recently pondering the “sophistication” of my own immediate family. Though I love my kids and husband an unbelievable amount and with an intensity that can only be attributed to Christ’s love flowing through me, I have to admit that I have many times throughout the years found myself embarrassed by their somewhat brash behavior.

However, as my daughter was swinging around her potato sock today while she waited for her sister’s to get done so she could pop it in the microwave. . .okay, I’ll explain. We used to have a custom made bag to microwave potatoes in and it worked fabulously. We’ve lost it, like most things we’ve ever owned, so I discovered that microwaving a potato in a sock does the same thing (hey, it’s clean).

We’ve found that socks are for more than just keeping feet warm: they work for washing in the shower-they slip right over your hand, so you don’t have to worry about dropping your washcloth; my 7-year-old discovered that in a pinch you can put pretzels and goldfish in them to snack while you’re playing outside; if you read my other blog posts, you know they do a good job of wiping off lipgloss; and of course the baked potato use.

Which brings me back to sophistication. In case it isn’t obvious from the many things we use socks for in my house, I’ve given in. We just aren’t a proper family. And guess what: I’m glad. There is a freedom that is coming from letting that go. I am finally getting to the place in which I am okay if people don’t like me for me. People will never see our family and say, “My they are refined. I wonder if Cyndy can tell me which fork I should use for my salad.” (By the way, I can’t. I’ll just wipe the dressing off the fork and use it for the main dish too.)

I find myself loving how we are at big extended family parties. When my mom, siblings, nieces and nephews, and my family are all together we are loud, we are overwhelming to outsiders, and we are brash (though still in an appropriate-kid friendly way). I’m better than okay with that. I am blessed and honored to be a part of my family. Just the way it is.

One thought on “Sophistication and the Usefulness of Socks

  1. We did more than catch frogs! I believe I put a tree frog down your shirt on a dare when we were kids also! LOL Love this post!!! Great memories and our family ROCKS!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

